Music-Fuelled Drawing

When I draw, I always listen to music if possible.  It helps me get in the mood, and the right songs can really jump-start the imagination.  The picture below, bane of several Micron pens, was started and finished while listening to this.

 

 

It's pretty badass.

Curse my crappy scanner.

 

The genre of music depends on the subject matter.  For robots and aliens and the like, I have Pendulum and the Prodigy.  Medieval fantasy usually warrants a bit of epic video game soundtrack, and when drawing from life I’ll listen to Cage the Elephant or Franz Ferdinand.  Clutch is for monsters, Metallica’s for more demonic characters.  So on and so forth.  My best drawings are always the product of a bizarre mix of genres playing in my ear.

Leave a Reply

