Surprise!

This was rather unexpected, but I had the chance to do something excellent tonight.  I found an old copy of Corel Painter 8 while cleaning out my CD rack.  I installed it, screwed around for five minutes, realized the power at my fingertips, and decided to do some sort of project.  Browsing the absolutely excellent Conceptart.org for ideas, I came across this tutorial and decided to give selfportraiture a shot.  Despite my artistic skills being nowhere near those of Andrew Jones, it came out remarkably well.  Painter is my new favorite program and has absolutely replaced Flash, OpenCanvas, Manga Studio, and GIMP as my tablet medium of choice.  Hopefully you’ll see more Painter stuff in the future.

Hey, first piece of (recent, not crappy) color work on this blog. Someone should throw a party.

2 Responses to “Surprise!”

  1. Actually, that’s not bad at all. Good color balance, the tones look right, and the shadows seem all in order.

    • Thank you! I’m still trying to work out the kinks in the program, so I think if I had had a better grasp of the wondrous resources at my disposal, I may have managed something a little better. But I am happy with it.

Leave a Reply

